How to remove your subscription has expired office 365?

The term Online office suite refers to the editing of useful programs primarily used in offices and businesses. These programs allow you to create, view, modify, and print files and documents (among other actions).

This suite is one of the highly trendy and employed office packages today. Its main types of programs and documents include Word, PowerPoint, Excel, and OneNote. However, the big difference from other office suites is that Office 365 gives you real-time access to documents in the cloud as long as you’re connected to the Internet.

In addition to providing these services, Office 365 also provides email, instant messaging, video calls, screen sharing, cloud storage, and event calendars.

This is due to integration with other Microsoft services such as OneDrive and Skype. All of these features allow you to access all your personal information and documents from any device connected to the Internet. In fact, this application is not limited to computers, as you can install Office on Android for free.

What happens when Microsoft Office 365 subscription expires?

Microsoft Office 365 is a beneficial subscription-based solution. However, because these services are based on your subscription’s successful continuation, it may help you know what Microsoft does when a subscriber cancels the service.

First, it can be helpful to understand the situation at Microsoft. For Microsoft (as in most companies), retaining customers ultimately costs much less than acquiring and incorporating new customers. Therefore, they are not motivated to let go of one of their existing customers.  

Instead, Microsoft has implemented a three-step process to give customers as much time as possible to revisit the possibility of their office 365 subscription expired. Take these steps today to understand your options if your subscription expires. 

Step 1: Expired

When your subscription first expires, it will expire for 30 days. Despite its name, this status does not affect your use of Office 365. You can start all the installed applications and add additional applications. Microsoft does not delete the data from the server. During this time, the administrator can add new applications and licenses and, of course, back up the data. Alternatively, global managers can restart their subscription at any time through these 30 days.

Step 2: Invalid

After the first month, your subscription status will change to Disabled and will remain for 120 days. This status means that only administrators can access the Administration Portal and back up Microsoft’s data on the server. For the rest of the users, their services and solutions are a bit hampered. If access to your Office 365 account is blocked, users will not be able to access your email services and OneDrive for Business files. Other locally installed apps offer limited functionality, such as the inability to edit and save files. Global administrators have the option to resume their license subscription at this point.

Step 3: Deprovision

However, after 121 days, even administrators will not access the data remaining on the server. You will not be capable of making backups, and you will not be able to access applications and services. In fact, Microsoft will start deleting data from the server at this point. This may have been accelerated by a process called fast deprovisioning. At this point, if you want to continue using Office 365, you’ll need to start a new subscription.

How to cancel an Office 365 personal or home subscription

The Office 365 Suite is indeed a very versatile and useful set of programs. However, it is recommended that you unsubscribe from this service for some reason.

  •         Open your favorite browser and log in to the Office 365 admin portal. For this, write your username and password.
  •         Find the Updates section and click the Unsubscribe option.

If the Automatic Updates-Enable window opens, select the Disable Automatic Updates option instead of Unregister. Therefore, your Office 365 service subscription will be canceled on the next payment date because it will not automatically renew at expiration.

At the end of your Office 365 Home or Personal subscription period, all applications will be in restricted functionality mode immediately.

What you need to know before canceling your Office 365 personal or home subscription?

As mentioned earlier, when your Office 365 account expires, both this application and other services go into restricted functionality mode. This implies that you can continue to utilize all of these applications as usual until your next payment date.

However, after the updated date, you can only view and print Office documents. Also, keep in mind that doing this will also cancel many other aspects of the service, such as the additional storage capacity of your OneDrive contract and the additional portion of Skype.

Leave a Comment