St Kitts Nevis Patriot’s Opt To Keep Evin Lewis Fabian Allen And Dwayne Bravo

In preparation for the upcoming CPL 2021, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots team has released the players who will be retained and those released. The Caribbean Premier League begins from August 26 to September 15 and is held in St Kitts and Nevis at Warner Park. All the games will be held here, in a single venue, because of the COVID 19 restrictions. 

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots represent St Kitts and Nevis Island in the West Indies. This team started playing in 2015 after their expansion as a team supported by their government. From that time henceforth, they have been in the tournaments doing the best they can. For the CPL 2021, they are having the advantage of changing and signing in their players. 

The Patriots, who are among the seven teams to compete in this season, have signed in two players from other teams. Dwayne Bravo from the Trinbago Knight Riders has joined the team making Danesh Ramdin out of the group who is going to play in the Riders team. It’s an exciting moment for Coach Simon Helmet as he will be reunited with Dwayne after they had won the CPL 2017. The other player joining the team is Sherane Rutherford from Guyana Amazon Warriors. 

Chris Gayle, the Jamaican, had missed the Caribbean Premier League 2020 because of COVID 19, but he will be returning to the team. He is the foremost run-scorer in the history of T20 cricket and had led the Patriots into CPL 2017 finals. He is expected to bring his experience as a cricket player to make the team win the trophy. He was released from the team for personal reasons, but they are looking forward to a great match because he is back on the team.

The other St Kitts Nevis patriots players retained are very remarkable and had played well in the 2020 CPL season. Seven players have been retained, including four Hawksbills players during the CPL 2015 draft. This should not surprise fans who have been guessing the methodology to be used for choosing St Kitts and Nevis Patriots players. 

The seven players retained for St Kitts and Nevis team include Evin Lewis, all-rounder Fabian Allen, Rayad Emrit, Sheldon Cottrell, and Jon Russ Jaggesar. Joshua Da Silva has also been retained after his CPL debut in the 2020 season. 

The 23-year-old Dominic Drakes also remained on the team for the 2021 season. He is also the son of the former West Indies Cricketer Vasbert Drakes and a left-handed batsman and pacer.

The coach of the team, Rayad Emrit, is confident they will win in the tournament as they will be playing the match at home. He also suggests the other teams not take them lightly because of their previous season’s poor performance. Emrit is optimistic they will register a high score at Warner Park because the field is small. St Kitts and Nevis team will have Simon Helmet as their head coach for this season. 

The owner of the Patriots, Mahesh Ramani, welcomed the visitors for the Hero CPL 2021 and said it was a particular season because they are going to play at their home. He also thanks the team, support staff, management, and fans for the support and love. He hopes that the CPL 2021 season will be successful. 

Meanwhile, Du Plessis, who had played for the Patriots in 2016, will play in the CPL but in the St Lucia Zouks team. He had recorded four consecutive half-centuries with the Chennai Super Kings during the Indian Premier League before it was suspended. 

Al Hasan will be playing for the Jamaica Tallawahs for this season after he had represented St Kitts Patriots in the 2016 and 2017 CPL seasons. 

St Kitts and Nevis squad CPL 2021 schedule: Fabian Allen, Colin Archibald, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Joshua Da Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dominic Drakes, Ryad Emrit, Chris Gayle, Jon-Russ Jaggesar, Evin Lewis, Mikyle Louis, Anrich Nortje, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Sherine Rutherford, Devon Thomas, Rassie Van der Dussen. 

To get more updates about teams and players, make sure to keep in touch. 

Leave a Comment